Static

scottburrow

Fractal Fanatic
So for the longest time, I have been having these static issues with my Eric Johnson Strat, that have been bugging me to no end. I thought it must be the Axe FX II because I see a static entries once in awhile. So out of curiosity I plug in my Les Paul, and no static, That's good news. So I do a little google search and find out that this is pretty common on strats, and that they suggest using a dryer sheet on both sides of the pickguard. So along with changing my strings I also unscrewed my pickguard and rubbed both sides, a low and behold it fixed my static issue. I have been playing since i was eleven yrs old, and I had never heard that. I know everyone probably knew this already, but it was new news to me.

Last edited:
You must live in a dry climate. ;) Comes up from time to time on the Strat and Tele forums. I have a partscaster that does that. I attribute it to the fact that the pickguard only has a partial shield on the back side. My "real" Strat doesn't crackle.

LOL, coming from someone who lives in a dry climate. You would think that I would know this living in arizona all my life, geesh.

My '76 Strat is also very static-y and crackles like a bad tube in a loose, arcing socket during the winter here waaaay up in Canada when the air is as dry as a bone when it's -35C outside....acoustic guitars get killed up here, there is little moisture in the air for a few months. My friends '72 does the same thing...and the amount of static noise easily generated by picking/rubbing on the pickguard is pretty amazing.

The dryer sheet helps for sure, it's just that one is never handy...:geek

Its pretty bad in my house in the winter. My strat is actually not horrible, but my SG with P90's and my tele are awful. I got so sick of dry sheets that the smell makes me nauseous. What I use now is endust for electronics on the pickguards.