1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

S/PDIF problem

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by MisterCrayle, Dec 7, 2018 at 12:32 AM.

  1. MisterCrayle

    MisterCrayle
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    H A W A I I
    I'm trying to re-amp but when I change the the Axe's MAIN INPUT SOURCE to SPDIF/AES, the software for my audio interface says "Clock Rate Mismatch" and automatically drops sample rate from 48000 to 44100, and of course, the Axe says "NO INPUT CLOCK!"

    My cables are 75 ohms, & the Axe is set as the master clock.

    What is going on..
     
  2. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,085
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    The Axe can't act as master clock when using digital input. Verify other interface is set for 48 KHz and internal clock, then try again.
     
  3. MisterCrayle

    MisterCrayle
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    H A W A I I
    Okay, my audio interface is set as the master instead & is at 48000.
    I'm outputting the dry signal into the Axe, which seems to be picking up because of the active input LED's but the signal is still dry and not being processed?

    MAIN INPUT SOURCE : SPDIF/AES
    WORD CLOCK : SPDIF/AES IN
    USB/DIGI OUT SOURCE : INPUT
     
  4. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,085
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Set USB/DIGI Out Source to Output 1.
     
  5. #5 MisterCrayle, Dec 7, 2018 at 1:53 AM
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018 at 2:00 AM
    MisterCrayle

    MisterCrayle
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    H A W A I I
    I tried them all, the signal is still dry and not being processed.

    EDIT : so, I unplugged my monitor cables from the audio interface and put them into the Axe and it works but why is that? And when I try to record the re-amped signal, none of the assigned inputs pick up the sound...
     
  6. blearyeyes

    blearyeyes
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    So Ca USA
    There is a tutorial pinned in this forum for SPDIF reamping. Maybe it will help?
     
  7. blearyeyes

    blearyeyes
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    So Ca USA
    Make sure the AXE is getting SPDIF in from your interface and set the clock to it so it can slave to your interface which should be the master.
     
  8. #8 MisterCrayle, Dec 9, 2018 at 3:01 AM
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018 at 5:26 AM
    MisterCrayle

    MisterCrayle
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    H A W A I I
    At this point, I'm certain my interface just isn't capable of receiving S/PDIF input when set to Internal, making the recording process of the re-amped track basically impossible. However, when the interface is the slave, the Axe is audible & records with no problem ; one row of the wet signal in Axe-Edit, a second row of shunts (dry track), both panned accordingly, the interface records the wet & dry signal simultaneously. Now when switching the interface to Internal for re-amping, the interface does not receive any input from the Axe's S/PDIF Out.

    It would be ideal to do this with one-go, which is presumably why I bought these cables to begin with but my interface is pretty outdated so meh — also having to constantly switch clock sources & having to restart the DAW every time is just a pain in the ass.

    Until I get a newer interface that allows S/PDIF input whilst being the master, my only option right now is to switch between audio devices (FAS USB AUDIO & audio interface) in the DAW, which in my case, is a lot easier than having to switch clock sources & restarting the DAW any time I want to re-amp.
     

Share This Page