rack mount wireless suggestions? (not line 6)

mgavin

Experienced
what is the best wireless rackmount system? what is the most expensive? are they one in the same? I refuse to buy line 6 so any other suggestions would be great. thanks in advance.

what is the best wireless rackmount system? what is the most expensive? are they one in the same? I refuse to buy line 6 so any other suggestions would be great. thanks in advance.

I have been using the Shure ULXS4 for probably about 4 years now, never a glitch. Solid reception, easy to setup, no sound artifacts, no interfearance, etc... I actually have 2 of them mounted in my rack, one for a microphone, one for instruments.

Steve

Sort of rack mounted...

I have the X2 Wireless, the original unit they made before Line 6 bought them out. I have the AC Powered version, the XDS Plus, I believe it is called. It works very well, and is an interesting alternative as you can either put the steel cased receiver on your pedal board (it is about the size of a TC 2290 Chorus), or velcro it (as I do) in a 1 space rack shelf and put it in your rack. The unit is no longer made, and the Line 6 isn't exactly the same, but it is available here and there at a decent price.

They did also make a rack version, but it is much more rare to see them. There was also a cheaper one (XDS95) but it was all plastic and just didn't seem like it would hold up, not to mention it was battery powered on both ends.

I like it so much I bought a second unit to use if this one ever craps out!

You can rack mount just about anything that you decide on.... Use a rack shelf and put it between two other units in the rack with the antennas in front. Velcro/dualock/zip tie it to the shelf and the unit above it will also hold it in place. I have done that with several different units. Shure SLX and Sennheiser G2 are what I currently have racked that way.