Presets of Axe-Change with .bin suffix upload

bwanagary

Administrator
Apologies in advance 'cause I'm sure other people have asked this question before, but I'm a newbie to the FX2 and the new Axe Edit 1.9 Beta only looks for presets with the .syx suffix. Does that mean that all the presets/patches in Axe-Change can't be used with the FX2? Or at least, not with Axe-Edit? If the .bin patches can be used, how would I get them loaded into presets on the FX2?
Thanx.

I have a LINUX box that I download the files from Axe-Change with. I copy them verbatim onto a flash drive, put the flash drive into the Windows box that Axe-Edit is installed on. This is the mechanism I used for installing the drivers, the Axe-Edit software, the Fractal-Bot software and upgraded the firmware to 10.

Last edited:
I'm also on Linux. When I download a preset from Axechange, a file save dialog opens up with the filename.syx already there. Are you saving the file with the .syx extension? When you look at the drive in Linux, are they .syx files? If not, the problem is occuring when you save them. Save them as named, with the .syx extension. Could be a browser issue too, what browser are you using on Axechange?

When I open the Save dialog it shows them as .bin. Usually, after I click the name of the patch I get a new page in the browser, at the top of that page there is a bright green "Download Now" button. button.jpg . I assume since you're a LINUX guy you're tech-savvy. The mouse-over show this URL for the download button: http://axechange.fractalaudio.com/download.php?preset=1011. Clicking that produces:
FileDialog.jpg
Already showing the ".bin" suffix. ;-) Am I going crazy?

Oh yeah - there are a *few* patches that show in the File Save dialog with the syx suffix. But very, very few.