Power amp/speaker situation Wattage, suggestions

King Tone

Inspired
Hi Folks,

I have been using the matrix gt800fx power amp with my axe fx 2 for awhile and I am running into some issues. I believe it may be just too much power.
I ran it for years with my 2x12 port city which had 2 celestion g12-65s at 8ohms. That seemed fine. I have played that for years at staggering volumes.
I have a os1x12 port city with 1 g12-65 at 8ohms. I recently blew the speaker. I was playing it fairly loud so I guess after a few years it was to be expected.
I got a scumback very similar to a 65 but at 100 watts and 16ohms. I played it with a lot less volume and it went down after only about an hour into the set.
Any ideas, I mean I assume the power must be too much. I don't seem to see power amps for this kind of rig at 50 watts a side. I have loved my fractal rig but
I can't just keep blowing speakers! Any lower watt solutions? Why don't I see any 50 watt per side power amps? Is the flat response powered cabs really the way to go?
I want it to sound like an amp in a room, which with my current rig is perfect, I just don't want to blow speakers. I could go back to a 2x12 but I am playing in clubs in
nashville where they want to see a fender combo behind a screen, not a big ultra powerful rig like this. Problem is, I like it.

Suggestions?

Hi Folks,

I have been using the matrix gt800fx power amp with my axe fx 2 for awhile and I am running into some issues. I believe it may be just too much power.
I ran it for years with my 2x12 port city which had 2 celestion g12-65s at 8ohms. That seemed fine. I have played that for years at staggering volumes.
I have a os1x12 port city with 1 g12-65 at 8ohms. I recently blew the speaker. I was playing it fairly loud so I guess after a few years it was to be expected.
I got a scumback very similar to a 65 but at 100 watts and 16ohms. I played it with a lot less volume and it went down after only about an hour into the set.