output 1 block showing +10db on bypass preset 383

Spookeylukey

Hi all,

I'm a bit of a noob and a bit confused with what the appropriate level to come out from the input 1 block should be.

So I had my guitar plugged into input 1, going straight to output 1 (using the "Bypass" preset 383) and have noticed the output 1 block meters in axe edit are going way into the red, showing 10db even with normal strumming - Is this too high? I'm using the Tone Zone bridge pickup in an Ibanez RG652. As far as I understand, going from input 1 straight to output 1 should be like a DI signal, and I thought the signal should be very low seeing as it's coming just from guitar. I also recorded some DI tracks into Logic through USB and input 5, and the signal is still quite high, showing a peak level of -2.4db in Logic.

My A/D input level is at 9%, where the input LED's on the Axe FX are just tickling the red with hard strumming, so I figure that A/D input level should be fine at 9%?

USB levels are all at 0db.

My input gain setting in the global setup was at 1.000 when the output 1 block meters were going up to 10db, but I've found that lowering the Input 1 gain to 0.15 keeps the the output 1 block meters at around 0db with hard strumming. I just find with this lower setting that my high gain tones sound a bit thin and lose some low end but I guess I could adjust the amp setting to compensate.

I'm still on FW 16.00.

TL;DR I'm wondering what the ideal level/signal should be at the output block, with signal going from the guitar --> input block 1 --> output block 1. Is around 0db ideal, or is going up to 10db pretty normal? Perhaps the Tone Zone's are just too hot, and I should keep that input gain setting down?

Hope this makes sense but let me know if I should provide further details/clarity on anything.

Thanks!

I wouldn't use an empty preset to adjust any of the Global Input parameters.