ODS tone

greg

Inspired
All the ODS-100 gain tones (whether the RF or Bludo) sound a little harsh and fuzzy. Is that how everyone else's ODS gain tones sound? I was having an issue and had to reset the system parameters. I don't know if the ODS tones are correct with mine or not. They should be smoother. But I find it difficult to make the tone smooth.

This is what I've come up with that sounds the best, but it's still a little fuzzy and not smooth like a Dumble should be. I've had a few D clones, and they were very smooth.
Even though it says "Clean ODS," it's on scene 4 that's the OD tone.

Attachments

• FM3)DS.png
    FM3)DS.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 44
Oh...like I said, I'm very new to this. I'll have to find out how to do that.
From the Preset menu inn the AxeEdit, FM9Edit, or (I assume) FM3Edit, choose "Export Preset" while the editor is displaying the preset in question. It will prompt you to save the file. Take that file (should have the preset's name and end with '.syx') and attach it to a post here. It's the quickest way to get help from people who know how this stuff works. Otherwise, we're just guessing, based on a description from someone who, as you said, is very new to this. :)

I find the PAB models a little harsher. Try the Ford 1 or the HRM.
@Burgs shared an awesome preset a while ago. This would be a great place to start:
https://axechange.fractalaudio.com/detail.php?preset=8766
Yeah, Burgs' HRM is pretty great as a baseline "this is what it is supposed to sound like" starting point, to quickly get you going and tweaking to your guitar. I lost several weeks of playing time just playing that one model, which has twisted and warped its way into the upper escherlon of my favorites list (along with the Trainwrecks). Try one with either the stock SRO IRs or the Thiele SRO ones from Ownhammer. Wow. Just wow. Totally thick, creamy, but still detailed tone. Love the Hot Rubber Monkeys....

Wired: Can you download presets from Axelll? I didn't know that.