Need some assistance with an amp choice an patch design

Patzag

Fractal Fanatic
Hi.

Being a low to medium-gain amp player mainly, I have limited experience with the sound design in the heavier gain category.

I have to play some tunes similar in style to Nickelback and Doughtry. The heavy guitar riffs are obviously multi tracked, but I'd like some pointers on how to get that type of tone in a live setting. I've tried Diezels, Rectos. I get decent tones but they don't sound quite right.

Thanks.

Quite difficult to answer... Pretty impossible IMO ...
You shall take a look at Fremen hi-gain starting pack ( search in preset exchange sub-forum ) You may find something that suits your needs and then you can tweak your personal taste and drive amount ... Surely better than creating several patches and auditioning if you're not dealing usually with hi-gain tones... Fremen is good starting point ... Actually was one of my main references to understand where to look in the axe... A lot to learn !!
Good look with your tone !

Here is an excerpt that gives you a little bit of information on amps they use......

The engineer miked the guitarists' amps with SM57s. The amps included a Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier with a 4/12 cabinet, Peavey Triple X amp with a 4/12 Peavey cabinet, Vox AC30 and Fender Twin. Moi used one mic per cabinet. “We had one performance on either side,” he says. “We would record one mono track and then record another mono track. It makes it really thick. We'd blend all of the amps down into one track and record two tracks: a left and a right. Then, when the chorus comes, you get them to do it four times and have two guitars on each side.”

I realize this describes the recording technique but just noting the amps being used. You could do 2 amp blocks and also add some pitch/due tune to thicken it up for live usage etc.

It depends by your guitar , not only the axe ...