My new go to when recording vocal

d2dark

Inspired
I'm a professional live sound guy that also play guitar fun in a cover band and also do recording to play around with gear, I'm now a big fan of the Specter Sound Studio youtube channel and when it's time to record vocals, Glenn like to use his good old Distressor in the incoming signal chain, the Distressor is a really good comp that stay transparent in almost any situation and can't really screw up the sound. I give the idea a try. At first with a BSS DPR-402 compressor, it's was ok but nowhere close to what a Distressor or La2a or 1176 can do. A ili disappointed, I remove the analog comp of the chain and try the comp block... I was just blowned away! Even with 18Db of compression, I had a usable, clean, non squashed signal! With almost no background noise.
The axe is now my new gold channel when it's time to record vocals, I drop my mic pre direct into the axe with a comp block and rock the living shit out of it! It's just so killer, you should give it a try.

I'm a professional live sound guy that also play guitar fun in a cover band and also do recording to play around with gear, I'm now a big fan of the Specter Sound Studio youtube channel and when it's time to record vocals, Glenn like to use his good old Distressor in the incoming signal chain, the Distressor is a really good comp that stay transparent in almost any situation and can't really screw up the sound. I give the idea a try. At first with a BSS DPR-402 compressor, it's was ok but nowhere close to what a Distressor or La2a or 1176 can do. A ili disappointed, I remove the analog comp of the chain and try the comp block... I was just blowned away! Even with 18Db of compression, I had a usable, clean, non squashed signal! With almost no background noise.