1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Mission Engineering SP-1 Step twice to turn on/off Wah?

Discussion in 'MFC Discussion' started by Rexgtr, May 6, 2018.

  1. Rexgtr

    Rexgtr
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Toronto
    Going thru the MFC manual, trying a bunch of settings but can't figure this out?

    XS1 #097 (wah) Ch 01 Typ TOG need to step twice!

    XS1 #097 (wah) Ch 01 Typ HDW step once but wah stays on when changing presets!

    What I want is my Wah bypassed when changing presets and step on it once to turn on, once to turn off.
    Something is eluding me here? Any help greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Sonofiam

    Sonofiam
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    875
    The SP-2 won't turn an effect on by simply engaging the switch. It just switches the expression pedal between OUT 1 and OUT 2. I have mine configured with the "Auto-Engage" on. I also have the 'Off Value' set to 95% to turn the wah off in the toe-down position when switching back to using the pedal as a volume control.
     
    Rexgtr likes this.
  3. Rexgtr

    Rexgtr
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Toronto
    Sonogiam, thanks. My bad I checked andI have the SP-1: I’m going to edit the title to avoid confusion, trying to get a solution.
     
  4. Icarusuki

    Icarusuki
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Near Seattle
    Tog = Toggle, in this state the Wah should toggle on and off as expected within the same preset/scene. However, if you switch presets (of if the scene changes the state of the Wah block), the preset will revert the Wah to its default (or programmed) state, regardless of the switch's physical state. This could cause a situation where you need to press the button twice, in order to sync up the state of the Wah Block and the physical switch.

    Example:
    You turn on the Wah: Switch is On / Wah is On
    You switch presets: Switch is On / Wah is Off
    You click the switch: Switch is Off / Wah is Off <-- Nothing will appear to have happened with this switch
    You click the switch a 2nd time: Switch is On / Wah is On

    With HDW or Hardware, the state of the Wah and switch will remain in sync because the state of the of the hardware switch determines the state of the Wah block (like a real Wah). This seems to be what you are trying to accomplish.


    Edit: Clarity and typos.
     
    Rexgtr likes this.
  5. Rexgtr

    Rexgtr
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Toronto
    Icarusuki, thanks I’ll give the HDW setting a try. I did experiment with HDW setting but didn’t achieve the result I was hoping for.

    When I first got the AxeFx II I liked the auto engage feature of the wah, then I wanted to leave the wah mid point for a nasal tone.
    I like being able to program my main presets like this:
    Clean. Wah off but can step it on
    Dist: Wah off but can step it on
    Lead: Wah on but can step it off.
    I mostly just use these 3 presets.

    I hope I haven’t confused global expression pedal with preset control?

    I’ve had this problem for years of having to step twice to “turn on” the wah and twice to “turn off” the wah using a Boss FS-6 which is why I ditched that switcher for the Mission Engineering SP-1.
     
  6. Icarusuki

    Icarusuki
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Near Seattle
    That will cause you problems. It would get really complicated to work around that, when the simplest thing would be to set the Wah like a physical wah pedal, on and off with the switch. I've just started using all of my SP1s with auto engage, rather than deal with the switch.

    You can do this by using auto engage with the position, rather than movement.
     
    Rexgtr likes this.
  7. Narzugon

    Narzugon
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    813
    Have you tried using the XP ports instead of the XS ports? I have two SP-1's using XP ports 1-4 (Wah and Vol) and 2x2 external switches using XS 1-4 (scenes and a drive block). I rarely have issues with the SP-1's being on when they should be off or vice versa. However, I do have a similar problem as you with the XS's (having to press them twice for them to work) but usually one cycle through them in the preset and they're good.

    Also, what firmware is your MFC on? I was on the latest when my SP-1 switches all but stopped working in the XP ports. I went back 1 firmware and all is good again.
     
    Rexgtr likes this.
  8. Rexgtr

    Rexgtr
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Toronto
    I think you’ve hit the nail on the head, you’re right I recall I used to have to hit the switch twice to cycle through first then it would respond to each step, I may have to roll back my firmware As you’ve figured out Narzugon, thanks!
     
    Narzugon likes this.
  9. Narzugon

    Narzugon
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    813
    I had a look at my FW version today. To be clear, with 3.09 my SP-1 toe switches did not work on the XP ports. I rolled back to 3.08 to fix that problem. However, the external switches on the XS ports still require me to cycle through them within a preset.
     
  10. Rexgtr

    Rexgtr
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Toronto
    I changed some settings but I'm not sure which ones corrected my issue?
    MFC101 version 3.08
    The XS switch inputs 1+2, 3+4, I have a RTS going into 1+2 from the SP-1*
    XS1 #97 Ch01 TypTOG
    (changed these to off as I'm not using them right now)
    XS2 #OFF Ch01 TypTOG
    XS3 #OFF Ch01 TypTOG
    XS4 #OFF Ch01 TypTOG
    *Seems weird that MI suggests you use a RTS cable for both the expression and switch connection?
    I figure a standard cable would handle the toggle on/off?
    Maybe I should use a breakout cable with the MFC 1+2 switch inputs? RTS 1/4" male to L/R female 1/4"?

    Anyhow I got the wah doing what I like now. Case closed. :)
     

Share This Page