Latency to Front of House?

AnswerInfinity

Inspired
I played a show last night where it was my first time gigging with the Axe FX 3. The other guitarist and I have been using Axe FX 2s for several years and scores of gigs with no problem ever. We both upgraded before this last show and I had a weird issue with noticeable latency for my sound. The other guitarist had no problem with his.

My wireless wasn't at this show, so we used a connector box to extend 2 1/4" cables to give me the reach to the 12U we keep the Fractals in. Could that have caused latency or should I be looking for something in how I set my new unit up to make sure it doesn't happen again at the next show? It's fine in the PA at rehearsal and I've never had anything like this happen. I had to have them take me out of all the stage monitors so I could just play "blind" and not struggle to stay in time.

FYI - We use no cabs on stage and go direct to FOH.

Sounds like FOH put some kind of delay on your monitor feed. Consider this: when they took you out of the monitor feed, the latency went away, and you could play in time just fine. So we know the problem isn’t on your end.

Almost every venue that knows what they are doing puts a limiter between you and a modeler. I haven't used my FM9 at a gig yet. I have used it plenty at rehearsals through our PA, but later this month will be my first gig with just my FM9, monitor and no amp thru a venue's FOH.

At the advice of friends, asking what the limiter options are (if any) is my plan. I plan to opt for a brick wall limiter if available - and hardware too if possible. Lots of stuff built into boards has plenty of latency - especially if they are adding a bunch of processing to other backline channels.

There could be a time delay on your monitor feed. Did you have other things running through your monitor that were in time? It sounds like a time delay (distance compensation) was going on though.