How many of you use REAL cabs still?

Hey Guys,

I have nothing against IR's at all, but I don't use them. I use a real cab with my axe FX and it pounds! I'm wondering, after reading the forum for a while, it comes off like most people use IR's instead of real cabs. Is this the case? What do you prefer? If you use a cab, which one do you use? I use a Orange 4x12 cabinet.

The second part of this is wondering about the IR's. I'm totally new to IR's. Do they sound just as good as a real cabinet? Better? There's just something I like about standing in front of a 4x12 and feel the thump from the air it throws at me.

-Dan

I still use real cabs. Always get kudos for my tone and sound. Sometimes I have my cabs mic'ed and other times I use output 1 to FOH and output 2 to the pwr amp and cab. A lot depends on the venue. I obviously use IR's when going to FOH, using IEM's, or recording. I have yet to hear an FRFR pound as much as the real thing. As much as the die-hards want to say it, it's just not the same. Ask Metallica or Petrucci, among many others, why they still use real cabs on stage.

Sounds great, after all that's how it was done before Impulse Responses were around, and that's how most people still do it. The axe is great, I just prefer the Axe WITH a real cabinet.

I use both ways, mainly due to what is a available.

I honestly can get a great sound using either way, with the caveat of the quality of the cabinet. And it absolutely does make a difference. Just because the knock-off brand looks like a Marshall, Mesa, or whatever doesn't mean it's going to sound good.

I honesty believe there are lot of people out there that do not factor that into the equation, or realize just how important that is to complete the chain of high-end gear, with a quality cabinet.

Same goes for FRFR... you get what you pay for.