Home speakers vs PA speakers

Rippin

Hi guys, I'm new to this AX8 unit. Appreciate any ideas or help.

I am able to get an amazing sound on my home Yamaha HS 50M speakers. I also have a subwoofer I can turn off and on to make sure I don't have too much low end.

But, when I take the unit to a monitor or PA system the fidelity just isn't the same.

My main problem is with a clean sound and my Telecaster. Sounds harsh / not warm in the PA and monitors. And I heard some comment from the house engineer that said it didn't sound clear.

I am having to modify the EQ for each set of speakers. I understand some of that has to be done but wondering if there Amps or Cabinets that are more consistent from home system to PA system. Or, any other settings that might help?

I've attached my Telecaster preset from a snapshot.
I use scene 3 for the clean but, I also copied it into scene 1.
I also attached a picture of my Global EQ (one friend recommended me to boost the 1, 2, 4,and 8k)

Again, appreciate any help :)
Jeff

Attachments

• Tele-12-7-16-forum_20161208_103047.syx
    12.6 KB · Views: 10
  • GlobalEq.png
    GlobalEq.png
    136.9 KB · Views: 16
Someone smarter will probably weigh in but I think this is the inevitable result of an extremely high fidelity guitar processor that outputs through speakers with variable characteristics. I found the type of difference between cab and PA was greatest with a Verve FBT, a little less with a Matrix FR12, and least with Adams studio monitors. The flatter the monitor, the better the starting point but it still requires adjustment to the PA.

If you want studio quality sound from a live speaker, you might want to consider the RCF NX-12 SMA. It will cost you, but it's worth every penny.

For a little less money (around $1200) you can get the RCF NX-10 SMA.... it sounds virtually the same, but the output is a little lower and the low end rolls off sooner.