Gibson...what is going on?

You all are discussing Gibson without authorization. Best sue you all just to be sure.

But yeah, the whole body shape thing is without merit, seeing as stringed instruments have had the contour body shape for centuries. Courts have upheld that having similar body shape alone doesn't constitute infringement. Maybe Gibson will have luck arguing that the Flying V or Explorer body shapes constitute infringement, but these shapes have been around for 60 years. The fact that they haven't gotten all sue-happy over them until now indicates that they'll have little success in the courts here.

Also, taping over a brand name on a guitar headstock in a film or movie does not constitute infringement. It means you haven't paid the filmmakers for product placement, so they've chosen to hide the brand. You can't sue someone because they hold a Gibson guitar in a film or photo.

I'm not a lawyer, so if any of you are and I'm full of sh*t3, please let me know. But this is how I understand it.

Damn,
I wear a suit to work and have some friends coming over tomorrow to talk about guitars (cause it’s the weekend) - guess I’m part of the problem - Just couldn’t find a better way to pay the mortgage! :rolleyes:
Thanks
Pauly

Thing I don’t get (from the playing public)

There are tons of people out there making Gibson type guitars and some downright knockoffs.
Soooo it should be alright for everyone to make Gibson styled guitars. That seems to be the message.
The designs are 60 years old and so on. OK - - -

Let’s roll the clock back a few years Paul Reed Smith makes that guitar for John Mayer, basically a Strat clone. But in this instance Fender was not the bad guy with there 60 year old designs. Instead it was PRS for copying them.
Total reverse of the Gibson situation.

Personally, I though the first few mins of the Gibson video was fine. Basically, play authentic/best whatever, a company pride thing. But man it it came off like the evil empire real fast.