FM3 with a Tube Amp

Geronimo

I've been using my FX8 for the past 5 years and it works great! Best multi-effects I've ever owned! I'm seriously thinking of upgrading to an FM3. I plan on using it 2 ways. Of course I want to use it at home with all the amp sims to record music. I mainly want to use it in a live setting with my Marshall JCM 800 2205 50-Watt amp. I've tried other multi-effects processors in the past with amp and cab sims and it's always colored my live tone.

I'm not sure if this has been addressed here or not, but here's my question. Can I use the FM3 without all the cab & amp sims with effects only without it coloring my tone? I want to use it exactly like my FX8 for a live setting. I want to keep the tone of my amp when I’m in BYPASS mode.

If my amp fails for whatever reason I always have back up and will use the amp and cab sims.

Last edited:
I've been using my FX8 for the past 5 years and it works great! Best multi-effects I've ever owned! I'm seriously thinking of upgrading to an FM3. I plan on using it 2 ways. Of course I want to use it at home with all the amp sims to record music. I mainly want to use it in a live setting with my Marshall JCM 800 2205 50-Watt amp. I've tried other multi-effects processors in the past with amp and cab sims and it's always colored my live tone.

I'm not sure if this has been addressed here or not, but here's my question. Can I use the FM3 without all the cab & amp sims with effects only without it coloring my tone? I want to use it exactly like my FX8 for a live setting. I want to keep the tone of my amp.

If my amp fails for whatever reason I always have back up and will use the amp and cab sims.
Yes. this has been possible since the standard and ultra in 2007. many pros and non-pros do this with a real amp. check the owner's manual as it shows you exactly how to set this up.

most would say no. there's always a small percentage of people who will say anything colors anything.