First recording....what happened to my axe fx??

torkolort

Inspired
So, originally I was just going to post a small clip of the Master of Puppets preset in order to get some feedback regarding what's wrong. When I bought my axe fx in august and tried this preset, it sounded amazing. I have not done any changes to the preset but suddenly one day it sounded awful! So did many of the other presets. They have become more metallic and distant. But the MoP preset has the biggest difference from what it originally sounded like. Is this because of the V9 firmware or what?

Yes, I am a total newbie at this. Not just with the axe fx but with sound in general. I don't have the patience, I just want to plug in and play...(yeah probably a stupid idea to buy an axe fx with my lack of experience and patience, but I heard so many nice clips I just had to have one :D)

Anyway, instead of just playing a couple of chords, I recorded the whole song because I haven't played Metallica in a LONG time and it was fun to try........the preset actually sounds slightly better in the recording than when I play for some reason. But as you can hear, it sounds like the guitar is like 5 miles away. Oh, and I double tracked the rhythm. Don't laugh too hard :D

http://www.4shared.com/file/189528817/e ... ppets.html

Any suggestions to what happened to my presets? Thanks!

Sounds like it has the reverb mix is right up. It could be because of the changes to the reverb block in late v8 or v9. Do you have any means of posting the patch? I could have a look at the settings..... That patch and playing sounds really good though ;)

Did you accidentally bump the global reverb mix? Global button, fourth tab.

Tone is great, just very... distant. :D