First impressions... pt1

cobbler

Fractal Fanatic
First impressions... Part 1 of ?

From a Beginners Perspective

Preface

I am basically a beginner player. I am 55. I had always wanted to learn to play the guitar and my experience over the years consisted of picking up an acoustic from time to time and relearning the same 3 to 5 chords and a few songs over and over. I just never had the time to correctly pursue learning. My experience with amps was singular. I have an old 65 Deluxe Reverb collecting dust in a closet and used it a handful of times over the years.

In 2008, I retired from a secondary career in sports which freed up a lot of time for me. I decided to finally pursue that elusive goal and learn to play. I picked up a semi nice Strat and plugged in to the Deluxe Reverb. Right away I knew this wasn’t going to work because there was no headphone jack and you had to turn the amp up high to obtain its full potential. Not a good combination with someone learning the basics. The girlfriend had input in this area. :)

So off to Guitar Center I went to buy a red kidney bean for practicing and figured when I got better I would invest in a real amp/cab setup. They were out of stock so I then looked online and came across the Ultra. After much research I took the leap of faith and have never regretted it. Never went to that “real” amp setup either.

So for 3 years I have been learning how to play and also learning all the other aspects that comprise the signal chain. At first it was daunting. I was truly overwhelmed. I was having difficulty just hooking all the equipment up properly for gosh sakes. Many experienced persons here took the time to guide a beginner like me over some very simple hurdles. I have learned a lot and I am forever indebted to them.