Can’t nail the Robben Ford sound and I know exactly why. Help?

So I’ve had my unit for a couple years now and, frankly, I never could bond with the various Dumble style amps in the Fractal. The Dumble sound in my head was Robben Ford, period. That chewy, saggy, mid heavy tone. The fact that I couldn’t make any of the Dumbles get anywhere near what I wanted was interesting because I’ve been using modelers for 20 years and have had no problem getting a satisfying Robben Ford tone from much lesser modelers.

I’m a 50’s and 60’s amp tone guy. I’m all about the Tweed, Brown, and Black Fenders, the Vox’s, the Marshall’s, and all the Boutique variant’s in the Fractal. I’ll spend weeks digging through a particular amp type with either my Tele or my Les Paul and then something will eventually trigger me to move on to another amp type.

I recently decided to make another effort to try to make sense of the Dumble style amps again. My biggest hurdle in the past had been that just about all of the “appropriate” IR’s for the Dumble style amps have been way too dark for me. Coming from Fender’s, Vox’s, and Marshall’s I’m used to a sparkly top end and I did not find that at all. I’m also a purist when it comes to cabs for certain amps and with Dumble’s I won’t consider anything other than EVM12L’s or G12-65’s (or clones). To me, these are essential for the Dumble sound and with anything else they lose what makes a Dumble special.

My trigger this time was a John Nathan Cordy video on the Two-Rock J35 and while my style is nothing like his, the tones he was getting were not dark and muffled. Thankfully he said the factory IR’s he used and as soon as I plugged these in, everything made sense and the Dumbles all sounded glorious. I was also coming at it from more of a John Mayer Dumble angle instead of Robben Ford. The tones I’m getting are so incredibly balanced and definitely have their own vibe going on. The clean and edge of breakup tones are amazing.