Best high gain IRs for 7 string?

stereotactic

Experienced
Hello, I’m new to IRs, so pardon any ignorance. Previously, I had the most neutral speakers/amps I could find as I use a good amount of signal processing with harmonizer, delay, reverb, etc and want as much detail as I can get. I had custom cabinets built and tuned around EV12Ls so I am unfamiliar with the nuances of lower wattage speaker breakup, compression and frequency responses. EV12Ls are PA speakers and meant to be accurate in their reproduction, given the limits of a single 12” transducer. The Axe affords us the liberty of an entire studio signal chain starting with a mic’d speaker. I’ve spent plenty of time in recording studios and know a few things about mics, but I am not an engineer and so need to know more to get good results:

1) Which actual speaker model has both the widest frequency range and most pleasing breakup characteristics? I ask as a 7 string player of mostly instrumental music looking for the biggest, fullest tone I can get as a starting point.

2) The Axe 3 has 4 IR slots in the cab block, and in the interest of achieving the fullest tone, how many IRS do most of you high gain players tend to use per preset? I’m aware that cancellation potential increases as you add mics, so how many of you use more than two IRs at a time and how do you deal with cancellation issues?

Thanks!

Lately I’ve been using the York Audio bipolar cab pack Recto ST 4x12 mixes. The axe III has a lot of these cabs in the factory IR’s. Search for YA in the Axe Edit cab picker screen.

I feel that you can't go down this road without trying the Misha Mansoor packs - https://shop.fractalaudio.com/ML_Misha_Mansoor_UltraRes_Cab_Pack_Bundle_p/fas-801-0049.htm
V30s are actually quite popular with the 7 string crowd. IME the 'bulb' presets and other 'djent' presets tend to use a lot of low end roll off to control flubbiness on the low end.