Beeeez in a jar

kev

Inspired
Getting aquainted to the AXE. I have been playing through tube heads for many years and haven't had a rack unit since those wonderful 80's. While setting up patches, I notice that old buzzy preamp distortion riding on top of most of the amp models, especially the higher gain amps. It isn't terrible but there. I think the distortion sounds great except for the beeez swarming around in there.
I'm playing the AXE through a SS power amp and two 1x12 guitar cabs so speaker cab is off, power sim on. If I turn the speaker cab sim on, the buzz is pretty much gone which is how it sounds playing through a tube amp. I thought playing through guitar cabs would take care of this. It's not acceptable to use the cab sim with a guitar cab, of course. It sounds muddy.

I haven't played the AXE yet with the band and I'm hoping the beeeez will get lost in the mix but I really don't want them there to begin with. I'm tweaking as much as I can but any help taming this would be great. I've heard it in sound clips from other guys too. I don't get this buzzy preamp sound playing through my tube heads. My next step is to try a PEQ and drastically roll off at about 5.5k and boost the upper mids to compensate.

How do you guys who play through SS amps and guitar cabs deal with it? I would think there would be a way to tame it in the amp parameters but I haven't been able to dial it out yet. I'm trying hard to avoid going FRFR cause I just don't need more gear. :roll:

Reduce the hi-cut in the amp's Advanced menu. That might help some. Default for many of the amps is at it's full value (20K). Try setting it around 5k or so (give or take).