AXE-monitoring question

LLCoolJosh

Hi New Friends,

I am an AXE newbie (working my way through the manual to avoid asking 'dumb' questions). I sold my dearest Soldano SLO-100 and bought the AXE FX II XL+. My friend and former band-mates, Nothing More, converted me to the AXE after I started hearing the tones this beast could produce (back in the analog days we used my SLO for equally beastly tones). But alas, I sold my SLO, my ONE AND ONLY AMP.

My question is this: what method do you suggest for monitoring the axe (both live and home/non-studio monitoring)?

I still have my guitar cab (for now) but no guitar amp/head... so I could go the rack-able power amp route. But I am curious to learn/try out a FRFR powered wedge. So here I am, humbly before my more AXE-fluent brethren, seeking your knowledge. Which method do you suggest? What are the pros-and-cons of each method?

Thanks for your input!

Last edited:
I have a pair of pre-neo (lighter magnets) CLR's that I run stereo and I love them. They go from bedroom level to noise complaint seamlessly. You can run the single from them to FOH. There are other brands, too, but I'm not familiar with them.

With FRFR active wedges you don't have to forego a lot of the Axe-FX's functionality by bypassing the power amp modeling, the cab modeling and all the tonal flexibility that goes with it. Cabs make the tone, and if you run your cab you're pretty much locked into the tonality of that cabinet and the speakers that are in it.

You can even do both in a live situation. You can run those wedges in backline mode, send the FRFR signal to front of house and run your cab with a power amp.