Axe Fx III Maiden Voyage

Fro

Experienced
I had my first show with the Axe Fx III last night. Bottom line: everything worked as expected, it sounded great, and I’m super happy.

I’m a longtime Axe Fx user. I started with the Standard, then moved to the II, and now the III. I also have an AX8 for a backup. I originally bought the Standard just to be a multi-effects device and ran it in a 4 cable setup. I never thought that one day I would sell all of my amps (except my Jubilee, for sentimental reasons) and run direct, but I’ve been doing that now for the past 5+ years.

I have always been a front panel user, but I am also familiar with the various versions of Axe edit. I’ve had the III for about three weeks now, and I probably spent a good solid 2 weeks programming and transferring all of my patches from the II to the III. I would keep my II on as a reference with Axe Edit open and just go through block by block reprogramming everything. I did several passes through all of the patches double checking every setting. Sometimes I was watching TV at the same time, so I was bound to miss a few things, hence the several passes. I made a backup after every programming session, and I have 21 backup files. The one thing I really missed from the II is the ability to copy an effect block from one preset to another via the front panel. I tried to be methodical with the way I set up my presets, but there were a few times where I noticed that I missed a few settings in a block that was in multiple presets, and it was time consuming changing each preset one by one. Quickly copying the block from one preset would have saved time.

I’m using the same MFC-101 I used with my II. I don’t use Scenes or Channels, though I may explore that at some point. The first 2 rows of the MFC are presets, and the rest are IA switches. I was able to set it up identically to the way it was set up for my II. Switching between presets seems smoother than on the II, so no complaints there.