Attempt 1 at capturing anything.

lexodio

I'll preface this with the fact that this is my first attempt at each of the following simultaneously; recording, mixing, Running an Axe-Fx directly through something other than a stage monitor.

I pulled the guitar-less backing track from guitarbackingtrack.com, loaded the mp3 into Logic Pro 9, and ran my Axe-Fx Ultra into my new Focusrite Saffire Pro 14. I recorded two rhythm guitar tracks panned and I decided to double the solo as well (not quite as widely panned). The guitar tone is not meant to be anything close to the original.

Any help/constructive criticism would be appreciated. Additionally, if you can, enjoy. :)

Last edited:
Nice work. You've got the vibe down, and your tone works well. The overall mix could use a little more low end; it sounds like that was rolled off somewhere along the way. Great first effort.

I thought that might be the case. I don't have proper monitors yet, so I'm running them through a stereo system set on "flat" eq that's probably anything but. I rolled off quite a bit of low end because I was getting a lot of bass frequency "booming" or "pumping" (I don't know if that's the correct term). Would some sort of compressor potentially work better to solve that problem?

I don't think a compressor would help a lot. You need to either get your system flat, or compensate for its hyped bass.

Assuming your stereo's electronics are reasonably flat, it's likely that your speakers are the cause. A lot of consumer speakers hype the midbass frequencies so buyers will say, "Listen to all that bass coming from such a small speaker!" If you're running a subwoofer, try turning it down or turning it off.

Great first attempt at this. I enjoyed it.