Are amp blocks accurate to the original when opened or am i meant to adjust settings?

hughj

Inspired
I am trying to create a preset of every amp sim in the box and, because i have no first hand experience with the majority of them, was wondering if they are accurate right away or meant to be tweaked to sound right. I'm not talking about basic settings but power options and dynamics and things i would normally not touch. This is in no way a criticism about this fabulous machine, i just want to make sure that i am creating an accurate representation of the amps.

Hi Hughj!

Well, like yourself, I haven't had the luck to have played all of the modeled amps in person so I can't tell you from experience that they're all exact. But from what I know from reading the forums and Cliff's remarks, he has digitally built these amps from the schematics and engineering of the originals, so technically he should have developed the modeled version to reflect the actual electronics of the real amp. How exact is translating real world electronics to a digital realm... well, that's for the amazing minds of the electronic engineering world to figure out and know, but I can just trust that these things are correct.

I will add though... sometimes I've read comments relating to the fact that a certain amp "supposedly" doesn't sound like the real one at all, from the perspective of someone that actually owns a real one that has been modeled in the Fractal. Again, I can't say for sure, but I know that the Carvin Legacy was one amp that I do personally own and many were saying that there was a potential issue with the modeled amp where the modeled amp in the AFX didn't sound anything like the real one. I suppose there can always be that issue and that's where things can be adjusted in FW updates.