1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

AMP Block with FX Loop

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by APE, Dec 8, 2018 at 6:20 PM.

  1. APE

    APE
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    California
    In many real amps, between the preamp and power amp sections, there is an fx loop. Does Axe-FX have one and how do I use it?

    I thought to put the "Enhancer" effect in an effects loop, not before the preamp, not after the power amp, but in the effects loop. Is this the right idea? And how do I do it?

    Thank you.
     
  2. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,922
    Likes Received:
    14,372
    A real amp effects loop is actually a hack to get effects like reverb and delay “after” the guitar amp. The real way was to add it to a recorded track.

    On the Axe, we can do this by placing blocks after amp and cab. So we don’t need to place it between the preamp and power amp of the amp block.

    Just put the enhancer after the amp and cab block.
     
  3. APE

    APE
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    California
    It sounds better before the cab, after the amp.

    The bbe sonic maximizer can be used in rack setups, not for recording. I've done it before. I did it with an effects loop. That worked.
     
  4. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,922
    Likes Received:
    14,372
    then do that.
     
  5. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8,045
    Likes Received:
    4,428
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    The Enhancer is not the same as a Sonic Maximizer... And it's typical use is at or very near the signal chain to give a larger stereo image.
     
  6. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8,045
    Likes Received:
    4,428
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Also, note that there have been a few discussions here on the "benefits" of the Sonic Maximizer... The general consensus is that they're mostly snake oil.
     
  7. Muad'zin

    Muad'zin
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    715
    Maybe I'm getting it wrong, but isn't basically anything you place between the amp and cab block basically the same as an amp's FX loop? The actual Axe FX effects loop is just to insert external effects units into the virtual signal chain. So if you're hell bent on using the enhancer as in the classic FX loop I'd say just place it between the amp and cab blocks.
     
  8. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,801
    Likes Received:
    22,319
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Don't think the term "snake oil" applies. The discussion is more about whether its effect is desirable, IMO.
     
  9. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8,045
    Likes Received:
    4,428
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Fair enough...
     

Share This Page