Am I doing something wrong? Not too happy...

adrianni

Inspired
Hi,

I'm using the Axe FX II with KRK VXT6 studio monitors. I am not very happy with the sounds I get.
Prior to owning this processor, I only used preamps. I have a JMP1, a Peavey Rockmaster, a Rectifier recording preamp, a Rockman and a Triaxis.
I have a GCX looping system so I can choose what preamp I want to use and I direct the preamp of choice to a Palmer speaker emulator and a TC G Force for effects. Then I go to a mixer (for mixing with the CD player for backing tracks) and KRK VXT6 studio monitors.

I was not able to get a usable sound with my axe. I play covers (Neil Zaza, Eric Johnson, Satriani). I don't understand what's going on, I even tried the AxeFX through my Palmer speaker emulator (disabling first the cab emulation in the axefx), I tried it through the G Force, somehow the tone lacks something major. I does not seem to blend so nicely with the backing track, it's like the sounds don't belong together (don't know how to say it better). It lacks some frequencies that are so naturally there with the other preamps I use. It's very frustrating because I keep hearing beautiful recordings with the axe fx (mostly the Ultra but I think II is way better) and I cannot seem to be able to get those tones.

So, again, am I doing something wrong? What do I need to correct?

This sounds like an obvious observation but I'll post it anyway. Start simple. Just go direct from the AXE FX to your monitor or mixer. Edit the preset to only have an amp and a cab, then you can add in other things to see where the sound goes wrong. If it doesn't sound good with this basic setup, get rid of the cab. If that still sounds funky maybe you should do a system reset and try again.

You should probably have your cab sims OR your speaker emulator engaged, not both. But YMMV as I play though a guitar cab and I prefer the cab sims ON. Without cab sims it's not so good.

Last edited:
Hi,