2 Guitar Options: NGD!

bleujazz3

Fractal Fanatic
Hi,

Like many of you, I'm a modest guitar hobbyist with a comparably small collection of 4 PRS Guitars. All of which are SE models after owning 2 core or Private Stock models at one time. Because PRS quality is what it is these days, you don't need to be a dentist or doctor to enjoy quality workmanship in imported models.

That being said, my guitar collection has room for one additional guitar. My options are a PRS Silver Sky SE Rosewood, or a D'Angelico Premier Mini DC. Allow me to describe why these 2 guitars are being considered, then, if possible, please offer your thoughts as to why you might prefer one over the other.

Most all of my life I've preferred Humbucker-equipped guitars. There is something about owning a Humbucker guitar because of the balanced, smooth tone one can coax from Humbucker pickups. Conversely, single-coils, IMHO, tend to be more contrasted, jangly, sharper pick attack...

For this reason alone I'd sway my vote towards the Humbucker guitar. Why not just buy a Premier Mini? Part of my dilemma comes from loyalty to PRS. Many times I'd purchased other brands only to discover a too-large neck profile, or work that might need be done once the guitar arrives. My loyalty to PRS is largely based on the fact that seldom if ever might I need to perform work on a guitar once it'd arrive. And the Premier will need work, typically a bone nut replacement for the proprietary PPS nut offered with the sale. Good news is, my luthier buddy has agreed to removing/replacing the nut for the cost of a nut, and one of my homemade meatloaves. Well, dang, wouldn't you jump at that offer?