Axe-Fx III Firmware 23.03 Beta #1

The new 5150 model is so exceptionally good Its really plug and play. Sounds so aggressive and punchy through the Bogner York audio IR. I sometimes cannot believe I had such a hard time getting a great high gain sound when I was a newbie with any amp. Now it takes almost 3-4 minor tweaks to get any model to sound good. This one though is exceptionally close sounding. I just tried the real amp at home before returning it thinking.. I do not want to fiddle with the 4CM ..etc. The character of the distortion is incredibly close to my ears especially with the right IR.

Last edited:
Just lost ~4 hours playing on the 2203 once again. Paired with the ML Sound Labs Blackback 57 and 421 IRs, I don't think I've had this much fun with a Plexi before! The brightness on this amp sounds a lot like the SV20H (rather than the 1959 Plexis) for some reason and I really like it. The SV20 by comparison sounds a bit more condensed in the low-mids, which is expected I guess with it being a smaller power section and all. But I've enjoyed that over the other Plexis since it was added because of the extra sizzly-bite-y (all the buzz words!) top end kerrang of a Plexi. The 2203 has that in spades, but also has a bigger, cleaner low-end that makes it all the more hammer-like. Okay, I'll stop now...

I wander is you were to switch the tubes on the new 5153S 6l6 model to EL34s it would match the tone of the 5153S EL34? I’ve never played the EL34 model to compare