CURE for Gear Acquisition Syndrome?

vejichan

Inspired
How do you stop yourself from buying more gear? Since i started playing guitar...i was a tone chaser. More focused on gear and guitar than actually improving my playing. Its been back and forth with my love for gear. Boughts tons of tube amps, preamps, racks, guitars and custom guitars. My GAS got better when i settled down and had kids but every now and then it does come back. For anyone who has this problem and is not fully cured meaning you dont have any urge to buy any more guitars or amps and seeing a new amp or guitar doesnt make you want to buy it...what helped you or what did you do to overcome this issue? Any advice?

For me i have tried quiting any guitar or gear related groups on the internet and even stop listening to music or playing guitar...but after 4 or 5 months of absense from that I eventually came back. Also this video helped

Ride it out — or if money is no object: get it all! :D
When I got the II, I had it cured for about 10 years.
Watching too many pedal demos recently, I almost wanted to get a board, until I saw today's prices for pedals :eek: So put my thoughts on an FM9 cure instead.
Other danger is to visit actual shops. That can make me go, "WTH was I thinking?? I need an amp in the room!" :D I do have some small ones, but the ones in the shop of course sound better... ;)
I love just researching it, making notes and lists, until it eventually dissipates — often because my interests change. I cannot be passionate about the same thing all the time; I switch between passions.
ATM, it should be more important to find a guitar that really fits me. One to five is enough.

Unfortunately they haven’t discovered yet…🤣🤣
First I had GAS for amp and fx then comes my first FAS unit in 2008 and I’m fine since then.
Then I had GaS for studio outboards but then come ITB mixing…
Now I have guitar GAS and I think I’ll never find a cure 🤣🤣🤣🤣