How can I plug my tube amps into Axe to hear using headphones?

Hi,

Not sure if this is in the right place...but...

I have 2 tube amps....JMP100 clone & SLO50 clone.

What equipment do I need, and how can I plug them into the Axe so I can hear them using my headphones? (or can this be done without using the Axe?)

I'd like to be able to play those tube amps at night.

So far from what I've read i need some type of load box to take the place of the speaker...then I guess something that converts analog to digital like a scarlet?

I'm new to any suggestions on brand of gear would be appreciated as well.....

dinky

Assuming those amps don't have a 'speaker emulated output' or a 'DI Output', you need a load box.
In other words, you cannot take the output on the amp that goes to a speaker cab, and plug into the Axe.
Don't ever do that.

Fractal sells a great load box (LB-2).
I have used the LB-2 to do a 'tone match' within the Axe, so my tube rig (Marshall JMP1 and 100/100 power amp) is copied perfectly in the Axe.
Now I can just use the Axe with headphones....no need to turn the tube rig on any longer.

So far from what I've read i need some type of load box to take the place of the speaker...
This ↑. A load box like the Fractal X-Load LB-2, Suhr Reactive Load, Two Notes Torpedo Captor, Mesa Cab Clone, etc. will give you a line level analog DI signal from your amp that you can run into one of the analog inputs of the Axe FX for further processing or recording. Just make sure it's rated to handle the output power of your amps and provides the proper load impedance. Never run a tube amp without some kind of sufficiently rated speaker or equivalent load connected, unless you like smoke and big amp repair bills.

Nope...none of those amps any any kind of DI output except going directly to speaker.

So from what I've read, I definitely need some sort of load box.

I go from my amp>load box>FM9 Input