Axe-Fx 3 good and reliable for live shows?

Martin Vaz

Hi everyone, so basically I'll like to ask current Axe Fx 3 users if this unit is good and reliable for live shows? I'm thinking on purchasing one this units and i really like the idea of not carrying a lot of heavy amps and pedalboards and all of that to the gigs, love what i hear on youtube videos about it, but haven't been able to find anything about it in live situations, thanks guys.

I’ve been using an Axe FX since 2009.
First the Ultra then the Axe FX II and the Axe FX XL.... I’ve been using the the Axe FX III since March... I’ve never had a single problem using them Live... hundreds of shows in all weather conditions.... for 9 plus Years....

Last edited:
It was designed and built for either live or studio use. I use it for both and although it's early days for the AxeIII, their predecessors are a good yardstick for how Fractal gear holds up.

I know you're on a Fractal forum and therefore likely to get a slightly more biased view, but if you buy one of these puppies you most definitely won't be disappointed. And, your body will thank you for not torturing it anymore with lugging heavy gear around.

Buy one and bathe in its full glory!:)

Last edited:
Def Leopard, Metallica etc all seem to have faith in them and they play pretty shows night after night.

Figure if it works for them......

Hi Martin,

I'm also in MrGuitarAbuse's corner - IE; The Axe FX III is meant for live use (so it will be reliable) however a backup is necessary if you want to know you'll never be without a sound. Considering the hundreds of amps & effects in the AXE FX, if it was to fail it'd be pretty bad for the gig - Unless you have a backup :)

Thanks
Pauly

I’ve used my III live about 14 times now and it’s been perfectly solid. I don’t jump to latest FW right away like I used to do with my XL, but I’m on the latest now and it has been perfectly fine.

I typically use a range of simple presets to complex effect presets.