Whizzer Cone Advice?

DJD100

Power User
I was looking at the BEYMA 12GA50 - 12" FULL-RANGE LOUDSPEAKER, which supposedly goes out to 18K or so (250W, weighs 8lbs, 102db sensitivity, $160)?

This in a 1X12 guitar cab or Tech 21 Power Engine might be interesting?

My theory is that for FRFR guitar you really only need say 80Hz- 100Hz thru 6.5K-7K (yes a few low level overtones might be cut but they get lost in the mix anyways etc), so why wouldn't a quality whizzer cone speaker like that one above work well in a guitar cab?

I'm guessing a ported closed back arrangement would be preferred, but I'm just guessing?

Anyone have any experiences with Whizzer Cones?

Any professional insight Jay?

Thanks all...

i am no expert,but in a ported cab you should tune the enclosure around the resonant freq.which according to Beyma's specs. is fs=90hz.but the freq. resp. is listed at 70-18000hz.do a search on the internet for cabinet design programs.there are a couple of decent free ones.you can input the speakers specs. and size of cabinet(ported or closed)and get a fair prediction of the freq. response of the speaker mounted in your cabs.i've used Winisd Alpha,and it ended up pretty close to spot on.
or you could just throw caution to the wind and get them and see how they sound.Beyma is supposedly a good speaker from what i've read.but i have no experience with them.

Thanks RDeraz, I'll take a look at these design apps!

I was just hoping that I could drop that speaker in a cab I already have laying around (closed back up-ported Crate OS 1X12, or an open back Weber 2X12 (with one hole closed up) and get enough top end to let the Cab Sims breathe etc?

Hopefully someone has tried some of these Whizzer Cone speakers and will chime in?

Thanks again...

RDeraz said: