Vocals and guitar through FM3

Chris6870

I'm pretty new to the FM3. Got it up and running and played one gig with my band so far which was great. I also do an acoustic duo where I previously ran my acoustic into an AX8 with compressor, reverb an IR blocks. Then into a mixer, out to powered EV speakers. The vocals ran into the mixer with some onboard compression and reverb from the mixer and out to the speakers.
So on the FM3 I would like to run guitar into input 1 with compression, reverb and IR block, then to output 1. Then vocals into input 2 with compressor and reverb, then to output 2. I would like to have independent volume control over both outputs, basically eliminating my mixer. My Powered speakers have 2 inputs so I could run each output off the FM3 into each input on the speaker and adjust the levels there and at the FM3. Basically I am just using the mixer as a vocal preamp at this point and would like to eliminate it. Does this sound doable with the FM3? TIA.

Tricky as theres only one reverb block in the FM3 - might be possible by using L and R channels separately.

I’ve run a preamp output into the FM3 ok. But I’m upgrading to the FM9 to allow separate guitar and vocals routing.

I do this with an XLR to TRS for the mic going in In2. For a dynamic mic (SM57, SM58) you'll need to apply a good deal of gain. I use a Vol block as the first block to crank the gain, then a compressor with more gain as needed.

You can simulate a reverb using the Plex block or createive use of the Delay block.

I put a compressor after my amp and key it off of the vocal to duck the guitar a bit when singing.

Better use a separate Mic-PreAmp before FM3 In2. FM3 In2 is a line Input. The Gain boost for the Mic should be done at the analog side, not after the A/D converter!
I would do the routing in the FM3 with the Output Mixer:
1: Mic Path
2: Git Path
3: St Reverb