USB audio: all of a sudden--> no sound

hobbes1

Inspired
I've had my FM9 hooked up in a format that works for me for several months. No unhooking of any cables or moving the unit around.
Today, for whatever reason, no sound is being passed through USB to Out2 which is where my nearfields are hooked up. I have sound through output 1 (I can hear music through my headphones, plugged into FM9 and through the guitar cabinet plugged into Out1---no i don't want music through that but trying to establish sound flow). Meters show USB In bouncing about 75% of the way up and Analogue out 1 meters bouncing as well. Nothing on Out 2 and if I go to Layouts and zoom into USB In block and Out2 block, no meter movement at all.

I'll attach two presets. The Jetcab one I have been using steadily for a couple of months...no problems. The Effects Only one I just built a couple days ago so I can run a signal from Out1 straight into a guitar cab. Any troubleshooting ideas and constructive input welcome. Thanks.

I have already rebooted FM9 x3, rebooted iMac x2, changed USB ports, changed cables, checked iMac "sounds" to verify I am using the FM9 as the Input and Output.

Attachments

• Jet Cab.syx
    24.1 KB · Views: 4
  • Effects only.syx
    24.1 KB · Views: 2
This doesn't have anything to do with FM-Edit. I think Bleujazz3 misunderstood what you're saying. It doesn't have anything to do with your presets either, unless you're sending your audio to channels 7/8 (and setting input 4 source to digital). If so, that's not the best way to do it since that requires using presets that are customized for that purpose. Assuming you're sending your computer audio to channels 1/2, you must use the USB Output Mapping setting to select 1/2 -> output 2 in order to get that audio to output 2. Otherwise it will go to output 1.

So, the reason it stopped working is because either you changed one of those settings or you changed your output usb channels.

Last edited: