Suggestions on mixing

Tamerz

Inspired
I'm completely new to mixing. We recorded at a studio and have the raw tracks. I just redid my guitar part on this with the Axe FX II (left channel) and decided to give mixing a shot. I don't have studio monitors so I did this using the Axe over USB with Sennheiser HD 202 headphones. It sounds a little bass heavy through my computer speakers, but they aren't the best. I'd love any suggestions from people who know what they are doing ;)

EDIT: Here is a FLAC link as well if that helps: http://music.tamerz.com/as/flac/old_style.flac

Last edited:
Number one, never mix with just headphones. You need a neutral monitor setup to create a proper mix. Other tips include learning exactly which frequencies each instrument handle and eq those tracks that way so they each sit in their own unique eq range. This allows all instruments to be both clear and punchy at the same time. Last advice is to never mix for very long periods of time and be sure to take 15min breaks to rest your ears to prevent ear fatigue.

Yeah I do want to get some nice monitors eventually. However I spent enough money lately so they will have to wait.

For the EQ range, do you basically use high and low pass filters on each individual track?