Speaker Frequency

jarabuandi

Experienced
Hi all,
just had an interesting conversation with one of the forum members about replacement speakers. Here is the thing. I've build a 2x12 cab and was looking for speakers. I was looking at a few Celestion speakers and noticed that the high freq range is around 5k-5.5k. Now I'm no expert by all means but when I cut the freq in my cab block to 5K it's sounds very muffled. These speakers are intended for guitar cabs so what am I missing?

that's the way guitar speakers are. This is a good part of why some players can not get the(amp in room) tone they long for because they are so used to hearing guitar in that frq range.

All that means is that the speaker will reproduce energy at that freq at a (specific level) key word there. After that it will roll off considerably, if you look at the graphs that Celestion provides they go out to 20Khz and all the energy past 6k is hugely reduced but it is there. The same thing goes for the other side of the graph most of the energy below 100 Hz rolls off pretty quick but it's still there.

It's not the same if you use a blocking EQ depending on the order of the EQ it may roll off dramatically or gradually, does that make any sense? I'm not the best tech guy when it comes to typing it out.

@Sixstring are you saying that the cutting the frq in the cab block to 5k will have this muffled effect but if I'd use a real cab with the max freq at 5K it won't?

that's the way guitar speakers are. This is a good part of why some players can not get the(amp in room) tone they long for because they are so used to hearing guitar in that frq range.

Not sure that I completely understand what you're trying to say...

when using fr speakers there is a much wider frq range, which to some players sounds to hifi when compaird to guitar cabs because of the drop off of the higher frequency's.