Soundproofing/Acoustic Treatment for Apartment Studio

Greetings,

I recently moved in to a new apartment which is a 3rd floor corner unit and am looking for tips on soundproofing my space to at least be able to comfortably track vocals and acoustic guitar without disturbing my neighbors.

Since I'm under a lease, I'm looking for a temporary solution that will not require any sort of structural modification. I've done a little bit of research already and have considered putting foam on the walls but to be completely honest, I have zero experience with this stuff so I don't even know where to begin..

Thanks in advance for the information.

Just a pondering here but sound proofing and sound treatment are two different things. What will prevent the neighbors from hearing you may not produce the best recording results. You want balance. But if you need deadening something like insulated drapes may be more effective, cheaper and more portable than sound foam installations.

In my studio I converted a closet that is in mid building. It is sheetrock walls, carpeted floor, acoustic ceiling tiles with corner traps and just a few sound foams. Works excellent for vocals and acoustic guitar. So much of your sound is what you're singing into anyway. We're using a Rode K2 into an LA 610 preamp and this rig will pick up a knat farting at 50 yards so by the time it's mixed out the room we recorded in is pretty irrelevant.

I also had a second thought. If you live near a big city there are many businesses that have leased furniture and/or gone out of business. There is a fairly consistent supply of acoustic office partitions available. These things are ridiculously pricey new but you might score a few used on the cheap and build yourself a moveable setup that will encase you and cut down volume. And there is this concept.