short AC/DC clip

archangel

I play Malcolm in an AC/DC tribute band http://www.kcdcrocks.com

A friend of mine was asking about why I use an AXE FX instead of an old-school plexi with a 4x12. I told him that I felt I could approximate the tone with my AXE well enough and that its more portable, consistent, volume-friendly and flexible than a halfstack rig. Being a skeptic, I made him a clip...thought I'd share it:

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=688623&songID=9185121

I'm a newbie when it comes to making recordings. There is no processing at all...just plugged my AXE out into my Apple via Duet going to Garage Band program then converted to mp3 thru itunes.

Its a simple patch on my AXE: amp > graphic EQ > cab > parametric EQ > filter > reverb

Normally I don't use reverb on my tone for Malcolm stuff, but I do for the intro of this song. BTW, my band tunes down a 1/2 step...which makes it sound a bit darker than the AC/DC version...but still, IMO, it approximates the tone.

Arghhh, is there a problem with the song or is it really only 6 seconds long ? The sound is so interesting I would love to hear at least 20 seconds of it ! ;)

Well the title does say "short" :lol:

Those 6 seconds sounded great tho so I also would like to hear more.

billou_35 said:
Arghhh, is there a problem with the song or is it really only 6 seconds long ? The sound is so interesting I would love to hear at least 20 seconds of it ! ;)

yeah, only 6 seconds...I wasnt sure how that file size would translate to email...didnt want to send a long clip and clog up my buddies computer. I'll try my hand at recording again sometime soon and put together a longer clip.

archangel said:
billou_35 said:

yeah, only 6 seconds...I wasnt sure how that file size would translate to email...didnt want to send a long clip and clog up my buddies computer. I'll try my hand at recording again sometime soon and put together a longer clip.

Super cool, thanks in advance archangel ;)