Routing / Setup Help: Axe-FX II with GSP1101 as backup

dweiskopf

Inspired
Hi -

Newbie here, so please be gentle :)....

I am switching from a GSP1101 to an Axe-FX 11 and have the following routing / setup question I could really use this forum's help! Here is my goal:

I'd like to use the Axe-FX II for everything, and have the GSP1101 available primarily for back, but also for the rare occasion where I'd like to use just the GSP1101 (a preset or two I've set up over over the years I like). A picture of planned rig (work in progress) is attached, but the core is essentially

Axe-FX II Output [1 or 2 1/4" (part of the question)] --> VHT 2/50/2 --> (Stereo) 2 Marshall 4x12 Stock 1960a cabs; AND
Axe-FX II Output 1 (XLR) --> Direct to Mixing Board (stereo (2 channels)) --> Out to Mains

While you can set the GSP1101 to automatically disable the cabs/sims on the 1/4" out the power amp, and simultaneously have the XLRs with the cab/sims on, and retain a separate FX loop, the Axe-FX II seems a little different, where to do the above, I think I need to have the 1/4" outs to the VHT from Output 2, so that I can disable the cabs/sims, as Output 1 will have the same settings as the XLRs (which, b/c going to the board, I'll want to have the cabs/sims on). I think that's right? And I don't think the Echo setting to 'copy/switch' the 1/4' Output 1 and 2 will help my goal.....