Rivera TBR.......thoughts? comments? suggestions?

Yet another noob here ....be gentle. Recently purchased an Axe (due to arrive any day). Contemplating what direction to go for an amp. Prior to purchasing the Axe, I was playing through a Rivera TBR-2SL. This has the same power section as the TBR-5 Hammer 320s. Never tried using this as a power amp, though I've been told it does work beautifully in that capacity also. Has anyone had any experience running the Axe through a Rivera? How did you run it? (amp and/or cab sims on/off? etc, so on and so forth) Or would I be better served purchasing a SS amp? One of my sticking points is the weight of this beast (4 rack spaces and in the neighborhood of 80 lbs). I was hoping to trim down the size and weight of my rig, but depending on whether it will improve (or perhaps detract from) the sound, I may be willing compromise on the weight. Please chime in with your ideas/experiences/comparisons/thoughts.............

Welcome!

The basic rule of thumb is to turn off cabs if using a real guitar cab (not FRFR), and turn off the power amp sims if using an amp that colors the tone a lot. Of course, rules are meant to be broken -- just try out your various combinations and use the ones that sound best to *you*. There's nothing hard and fast about how an AxeFx should be used (other than used A LOT!)

My aching back would definitely be voting against 80lbs for a power amp!:)

TT

Holy moly, blast from the past!

1996 (I still had hair!):

ScottOnstageA.jpg

I had a TBR-1SL and a TBR-2SL. MASSIVE amps with MASSIVE iron in them. Killer sounding too. I pushed four 4x12's with the 2SL so hard in our practice space one night (just jamming alone) that I got vertigo from the SPL's. LOL. Good times! :D

Sadly, I sold both in the late 90's so I can't answer your question. But if your goal is to trim down the size and weight of your rig... ;)