Reamp with Mbox - SPDIF

billschultz

Hey guys, I've been using my standard for a few months now and I feel like reamping would be the best way to work out a great tone. I have no idea how to make it work with my Mbox and Protools. It seems like hooking up to the spdif in and out would be the best answer but I have no clue on how to make it happen with my setup. Am I missing something here?

Thanks,
Bill

Thanks for the reply. That pointed me in the right direction, but I'm still a bit confused on how I route things in Pro Tools. It seems like I should have a send and return in Pro Tools to send thru the SPDIF to do this. I can't make it work though. Weird....

there is one thing I don't get in that tutorial, it mentions putting the FX loop in the last block and disconnect the output, how do you do that?
It doesn't seem to allow me to disconect the connection to the output from the last block?? I also don't understand the logic in having to have a whole line of shunts from input to ouput then put the fx loop in the last one to disconnect from the output? why not have an fx loop in the first block then?

Yannick

Yannickm said:
there is one thing I don't get in that tutorial, it mentions putting the FX loop in the last block and disconnect the output, how do you do that?
It doesn't seem to allow me to disconect the connection to the output from the last block?? I also don't understand the logic in having to have a whole line of shunts from input to ouput then put the fx loop in the last one to disconnect from the output? why not have an fx loop in the first block then?

Yannick

That was a bit confusing.
Here is what he is saying

Find a patch that you want to monitor w/ so get get the feel of the sound you'll eventually wind up with.
You will not be recording this signal but monitoring with it.
The line of shunts is for the dry signal (you wont be listening to that). It is what is being recorded for later reamping.