Reamp while mixing? Possible?

Izzyprad

Inspired
I am kind of new to this reamping stuff. I was wondering if we can do reamping in realtime while mixing.
I have an RME Fireface 800 as my main audio interface, so can I use RME (for monitor out) and Axe FX II (only for reamping) both as an audio interface simulataneously when recording?

Also is realtime reamping possible with the current 4x2 USB, or was that only for 4x4 usb?.

Thanks

Last edited:
At the moment it is not possible to reamp in the mix.
Or atleast for mac users. The aggregated device does not work due to a sync problem.
On pc I believe it is possible using the asio drivers/program.

At the moment it is not possible to reamp in the mix.
Or atleast for mac users. The aggregated device does not work due to a sync problem.
On pc I believe it is possible using the asio drivers/program.

That's not entirely true. I'm on a Mac and successfully using a Mackie Onyx 400f to monitor out along with the Axe II as an aggregate device. This allows me to reamp while listening to the entire mix in PT 9. I do have my monitors connected directly to a Mackie Big Knob and the outs of both the Onyx and Axe II hooked up to the BK.

I am kind of new to this reamping stuff. I was wondering if we can do reamping in realtime while mixing.
I have an RME Fireface 800 as my main audio interface, so can I use RME (for monitor out) and Axe FX II (only for reamping) both as an audio interface simulataneously when recording?

Also is realtime reamping possible with the current 4x2 USB, or was that only for 4x4 usb?.

Thanks

I doubt the aggregate device (or ASIO4ALL) will work continuously for you with the FF800 but you could try. What I do is spdif between the two devices and use the interface for input instead of the Axe. That will allow you to reamp through spdif but you'll have to monitor through the FF800. It works well for me (there is a bit more latency but it doesn't bother me).