Owning an Axe FX is bittersweet...

Here is why:

I came from owning a Pod HD500. The unit itself was very enjoyable for the 2 years I owned it, and it served its purpose very well for me playing in my youth band at church, and it really motivated me to practice, and allowed me to excel to be what many worship leaders at my church have said, "the best guitar player in the church". It gave me an inspiration I hadn't seen from any other modeler (the Pod HD500 did). I played many different worship venues within my church as well as summer camps, youth retreats, among other venues/memories I'll cherish for a long time. Fast forward to this past few months, and I noticed it was becoming a drag to play guitar. It was something I only did at church and it wasn't something I was absolutely in love with anymore, due to feeling limited by my gear. Within the past month, I graduated high school and was blessed with some money from family and friends and a new MacBook Pro. Throughout my 6 years of playing guitar, I knew that the Axe FX was the holy grail of digital modelers and that nothing could touch it as far as sound or quality. I knew I had to have one someday.

I decided to purchase a used one from moderator Scott Peterson, and an MFC-101 footboard. Here is where the journey starts:

By owning the Axe FX II, I am able to come up with every single darn tone that I could ever need and they all sound so incredible. I am able to get my typical AC30 U2 chimey stuff that I use at church, combined with cool shimmer effects and big cavernous reverbs with modulation, but MUCH higher quality than my HD500. I now have an incredible tone that rivals huge pedalboard full of boutique pedals and delays.