NEW DAW

JDWhite

Inspired
Hey All,

I have been using an old version of Cubase SX for quite awhile now. As I have posted on here before, I am still very new to the recording/mixing arena, but would like to step up my game. I was thinking about upgrading to a newer DAW, and just wanted any opinions on what people like for PC 64 bit. I have my eye on pro tools, but thought I would ask here first for opinions.

Thanks,

JD

I'm using Fl studio 10 - fruityloops :D

for me the DAW don't matter that much, you get used to it. lots of lessons on youtube to any DAW I think.

The magic comes with plug-ins and what you put into it how I see it :)

I like the piano roll in fruityloops. I think fl studio fruityloops is kind of a DJ thing. I don't know really. Started with it, continued with it you know?

StudioOne Pro. I just don't think that capabilities, stability and ease of use is matched by anything else out there right now.

I have nothing good to say about ProTools. Nothing.

Reaper, for sure.

It's significantly cheaper than all of the competitor DAW's and can do virtually anything they can. Great UI and workflow too

I've worked with protools, and it's great for shaping audio when recording in a studio (typical band with lots of tracks and drums, the whole schebang)

but for making music from scratch I don't think protools is at it's best. more for like when you have input. it's ok.

I'm with Shasha on ProTools.........why?
When these threads come up I suppose I sound like a broken record.......Reaper, Reaper Reaper.
Based on features, sound quality and cost......nothing better in my opinion.
Try the demo version before you drink the ProTools kool aid.

What does studio one pro do that cubase doesnt ?
For one it uses VST instead of RTAS. It's also much cheaper and until recently didn't require proprietary hardware. I've had mixed success using ASIO drivers with PT in the past. I don't remember if PT has a built in mastering section either.