Need some help - ringing in the ears after playing... not an FX fault, an ear fault!

lauries2

This is not a post about a "fault" with the Axe FX - this is something weird happening with my hearing and I'm hoping I can get the benefit of some experience that others may have had.

I am new to Axe FX. Purchased an Axe FX II XL and MFC about a month ago. I have been playing for decades and have owned over 50 amps during that time (mainly tube) and hundreds of pedals. I've owned PA systems and mixed live sound for years. I have an electrical engineering degree and I used to make pedals as a little garage business... All of which is to establish that I've got some background and experience, not some completely raw newbie. I've used modelers before. But nothing as sophisticated at the FX.

The problem: I'm having trouble with ringing in the ears after using the FX. Even at low volumes. The ringing does not happen when I play normally through my usual go-to amp the Dr Z Maz 18 with an all analogue chain. My ears appear to be more sensitive than I'd like - years ago I had a similar problem with a reissue Fender Vibrolux Reverb - I spent years tinkering with mods to that amp and couldn't get rid of the ice-picks. But that thing what was universally known to be an ice-picky amp.

I am, however, confounded by the fact that all is well with my analogue chain but not with the new digital one.

Thinking it might be my reproduction mechanism, I've tried the following speakers:
- Sony professional grade headphones
- KRK (and several other) studio monitors (FRFR)
- EV FoH mid-highs (ZLX12P)
- The stereo poweramps and speakers in a Roland JC-120
- A pair of Dr Z combos (Stang Ray on one side, Maz 18 on the other)

I've also:
- tweaked the global graphic EQ until my fingers (metaphorically) bled
- added 31-band EQ's into the signal chain
- played with EQ blocks
- played with cabs and cab resonance parameters until I tied myself in knots