Need advise about speaker and live situation

thinknolimitz

Inspired
Need advise about this, I am using axe-fx together with yamaha HS50M speaker for personal use at home. Sometime I use headphone, it is AKG K 242 HD.

I am having difficulties to understand that every time when I try to use PA gear in studio or live music event, the sound from PA gear always different compared when I play it at home. Even between HS50M vs. headphone also different.

Could you advise what should I do, at least to minimize the gap between these system? Should I change my speaker / headphone?
If there's a topic or reference or link etc. that can help me, please let me know.

Fyi, I am not a professional, doing this is just for fun and hobby.
The "live music event" I mentioned above is only about company/community event or ceremony or things like that...so go easy on me :D

There will always be a difference in my experience between different setups and I can't think of a real way to get a headphone or home speaker sound to match a PA. You may be able to get it close, but the change of amplification method, loudness, room dynamic, etc, is hard to guess. Some others with far more experience may have some ideas to get it closer.

If you have a specific event/company etc that you play more often, it would be best perhaps to get a time to use the PA or borrow a friends PA and use at home and create patches with Scenes, Amp, or added EQ blocks to get a better sound. And play at a Loudness level that is close to real. My patches sound fairly different when running through my Headphones (AKG 550s), my JBL monitors, or a pair off older, but still good, FRFR powered speakers. I also think I get some differences in sound by recording the AxeFX in my DAW depending on whether I run the Outs to a Motu Audio Express or direct USB. I actually think, from a limited trial, that the Axe's USB out records in Ableton better than than taking the Outs to a Motu Express and the latency is less.