My TM progess

Heavyplayer

Experienced
My TM progress

Let me start off by saying I'm not an expert by far, and when I first started Tone Matching I didn't bother to look at the eq part of it. I thought it was suppose to sound identical just putting a TM block in the chain, hit a few buttons.....done deal. After all these great updates I started listening to my old TM presets and looked at the eq, not that they sounded bad, but the eq was all over the place, and that drives me nuts!

So, now I been trying to redo some and add new TM presets. Even though they aren't perfect, they "look" better as far as eq goes, and of course sound closer.
Anyway, here are a few screen shots (not sure how to make them bigger) of what I been messing with here and there. Very time consuming so when I'm not really practicing I work on these. Any tips etc....let me know. I'm technically a noob so I'm up for suggestions.

Huges & Kettner Triamp.jpgEarForceFord.jpgSherlock Fathead.jpgBogner Alchemist Ch3.jpgEngl Invader.jpg

The Bogner is a TM I did of the actual amp, as you can tell huge difference.

Last edited:
I wish I could contribute something useful to your thread, but I've never once looked at Tone Matching!

I'm more of a noob than you therefore, but if those EQ curves represent adjustments which are being automatically applied as a result of analysing a source tone, then I'd say they look pretty reasonable

It's cool. I guess most thought I attached the patches, which I was going to if anyone was interested. And yeah the closer you are to a flat EQ, the closer you are to the devise or clip you're trying to TM.

The problem Im having with tone matching is that the result is not even close to the tone im matching. There's just something wrong with it. Course that could be what happens when you tone match through youtube.

you have any samples of this tone? Im curious.