Monitor help

Mowgli86

Hi guys, I know this has been touched on many times, but I’m new to the game here:
Only ever played guitar through an amp and cab, and never “treated” a room before.
My Mark V25 is too damn loud for daily use (if I want it to sound good anyway), and for the price of a Waza Tube Amp Expander I realised I could get an FM3.
Really want a stereo set up for delays, and useable home volumes, so I’ll be playing guitar through a set of monitors (decided on Eve SC207’s after much reading, as they have less negative press than the A7X’s), my question is whether this is total overkill as I may not be able to have my own treated studio for over a year. Will it really make that much difference and render all my tones crappy ?

I’ll get some headphones too (Beyerdynamic DT770’s recommended by lots of you), but I really want a set up where I don’t rely on having to wear them to play guitar every time. Thanks in advance for any help

You understand that playing a modeler through monitors isn't going to sound or feel the same as playing through a guitar cab, right?

Last edited:
Hi guys, I know this has been touched on many times, but I’m new to the game here:
Only ever played guitar through an amp and cab, and never “treated” a room before.
My Mark V25 is too damn loud for daily use (if I want it to sound good anyway), and for the price of a Waza Tube Amp Expander I realised I could get an FM3.
Really want a stereo set up for delays, and useable home volumes, so I’ll be playing guitar through a set of monitors (decided on Eve SC207’s after much reading, as they have less negative press than the A7X’s), my question is whether this is total overkill as I may not be able to have my own treated studio for over a year. Will it really make that much difference and render all my tones crappy ?