Modeling the tonal character of the Gibson GA-40?

artzeal

Experienced
My mail order bride -delete- My AX8 will move in next week: I’ve vacuumed and spruced the place up: The Zoom G5 is on craigslist, the Boss RT-20 and Blackstar HT-Dual on the closet shelf. The amps will have their covers on. I thought it would be nice to have a head start on specific tonal goals. I’m new to Fractal: so I’ve perused the manual and researched various threads. Thanks to Yek’s alluring Page 3-esque amp presentations; I feel well informed on performance expectations.

Although I will be confidently futzing away on most of it without guidance and the door locked: there is one challenge I would like to solicit the advice of seasoned Fractal Audio veterans on. Emulating the Gibson GA-40 (since it isn’t specifically modeled) or, more generally, its kin - 50’s Gibson amp tones: GA30, GA9. I’m interested in that lower gain range where it goes from cleanish to fat harmonic sustain without much grit. Tone guide: Bebop with a hollow body, jump blues. "Look Ma - no headroom". Not crunch, chime, grind: all this other good stuff can be had elsewhere.

This range of GA-40 type tone doesn’t seem to be in the job description of most tube amps or models I’ve come across thus far: My understanding is that 50’s circuit topologies are fairly similar: but Fenders’ IME have quite a different texture from the Gibsons’ : but maybe you can get close with some under the hood adjustments: Swapping 6V6 for 6L6 in the Bassman model possibly?