midi connections

peaveywolfgang

hello, i just got an axefx ultra and i am new to the midi world. i would like to know what kind of midi-usb interface i need to buy in order to conect the axefx both to my pc for editing and a rocktron midimate controller, and how to connect these. maybe recommend me one, cheap and good (emu, m-audio, esi...)

do i go midi out from the rocktron to the axefx midi in then from the axefx midi out to the interface midi in then thru the usb in the computer? is that it? will this do for the changes made in the axefx pc editor to have effect in the unit itself or there must be another cable back from the computer to the axefx?

thank you

I'm using an M-Audio Midi sport 2X2 anniversary, I think they run around $80. I Have had no issues with it sense I bought new 4 years ago. You have the hookup order right if your uploading presets to your PC. If you want to down load or do a firmware update you need to run in the opposite direction, so computer > USB interface > Midi out > Axe FX Midi in. It's best if you don't have any other devices between the Axe and the interface wile doing data transfers and use a good midi cable, one that makes a positive connection and is made of quality construction.

ok, thank you. is it possible to do all togheter? meaning changing presets/effects with the rocktron, changing settings in the pc editor that are done in the unit itself too and also loading presets, ir's, firmware updates, all with the same setup... what do i need and how do i make the connections?